Swearing in of New Commissioners and Election of Mayor and Vice Mayor for 2021

EUSTIS, Fla. (Jan. 8, 2021) At the January 7th Eustis City Commission Meeting, newly elected Commissioners Nan Cobb and Willie Hawkins were sworn-in along with recently re-elected Commissioner Emily Lee. Following their oaths, the new Commissioners assumed their seats on the dais. Commissioner Cobb has served on numerous boards and commissions and is the long-time owner of Cobb Tractor with her husband Jerry.  Commissioner Hawkins is a recently retired Supervisory Special Agent who served over 26 years with the Dept. of Justice and is a US Air Force veteran.

Commisioner - Mayor Holland HeadshotHolland was appointed in May of 2018 and was then elected to a full-term in November 2018. He is a Eustis native and graduate of Eustis High School. He attended Lake Sumter State College and graduated from Gupton-Jones College with a degree in Mortuary Science. Holland is the 3rd generation of his family to call Eustis home. While in high school, he worked in his grandparent's furniture store, where he learned the importance of hard work and personal responsibility.The first action of the new Commission was to elect a Mayor and Vice-Mayor for the upcoming year.  

The City Commission formally re-elected Commissioner Michael Holland to serve as Mayor and Commissioner Emily Lee to serve as Vice-Mayor for the City of Eustis. Holland’s Commission term is through December 2022, and his term as Mayor will be through December 2021.  The recently re-elected Lee will serve as a Commissioner through 2024, and she will serve as Vice-Mayor through December 2021.

Lee was originally appointed in April 2019 to fill the vacancy created by the untimely passing of Commissioner Carla Gnann-Thompson.  Recently re-elected in November 2020, Lee’s career includes teaching, school counselor, juvenile probation officer, Lake County Director of Children's Services, Kids Neighborhood Facilitator and served as the Trustee representative to the Lake Sumter State College Foundation. 

Headshot of Commissioner Emily LeeThe City of Eustis has a commission-manager form of government. The Commission consists of five numbered seats. Commissioners are elected for staggered four-year terms, with elections held in even-numbered years. Elections are non-partisan.

Seat #1 - Karen LeHeup Smith, Jan. 2019 – Dec. 2022
Seat #2 – Michael Holland, Jan. 2019 – Dec. 2022
Seat #3 – Willie Hawkins, Jan. 2021 – Dec. 2024
Seat #4 - Nan Cobb, Jan. 2021 – Dec. 2024
Seat #5 - Emily Lee, April – Dec. 2024