City of Eustis Mayor and Vice Mayor Elected for 2017

EUSTIS, Fla. (Jan. 6, 2017) – At the Annual Organizational Meeting held on Jan. 5, 2017, Commission formally elected Commissioner Robert Morin to serve as Mayor and Commissioner Marie Aliberti to serve as Vice Mayor for the City of Eustis. Morin and Aliberti will serve in their respective roles through December 2017.  

Also at the meeting, Commissioners Morin, Aliberti, Anthony Sabatini and Carla Gnann-Thompson were sworn-in and seated. Former Mayor Michael Holland and former Vice Mayor Karen LeHeup-Smith were presented with plaques in recognition and thanks for their service and Holland delivered his outgoing Mayor’s Message.

Morin received his Bachelor of Arts from University of Massachusetts and his Masters of Public Administration from Suffolk University, with a specialty in city and town management. He is an U.S. Army veteran and a retired executive from state and local government with over 35 years’ experience. Currently, Morin, and his wife Tina, are realtors in Eustis with Real Living Real Estate Solutions.Morin Inset

“Lake County is a growing county and Eustis should play a major role in the growth while holding on to the attributes that make Eustis a great place to live,” Morin said. “Community and business development, housing for families and homeless veterans, public safety, recreation, road improvements and annexation are all efforts we know will have a major impact on the quality of life for Eustis residents.”

Aliberti was a teacher at Eustis High School where she worked for 27 years as the Workforce Development Coordinator. Currently, she is a Lake County instructor in the Digital Information Technology Program. She received a Bachelor of Science in Education from the University of Central Florida and Masters of Educational Leadership from Nova Southeastern University.
Aliberti Inset
The City of Eustis has a commission-manager form of government. The Commission consists of five numbered seats. Commissioners are elected for staggered four-year terms, with elections held in even-numbered years. Elections are non-partisan.

Seat #1 - Linda Durham Bob, Jan. 2015 – Dec. 2018
Seat #2 - Anthony Sabatini, (partial term) Jan. 2017 – Dec. 2018
Seat #3 - Marie Aliberti, Jan. 2017 – Dec. 2020
Seat #4 - Robert Morin, Jan. 2017 – Dec. 2020
Seat #5 - Carla Gnann-Thompson, Jan. 2017 – Dec. 2020